Campaign sign thefts upset Navy veteran down Memory Lane from 2008

sign

Thirty years ago when I enlisted in the United States Navy, I proudly took the Oath of Enlistment. The Oath of Enlistment that still today is dear to my heart, and it goes like this: “I do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.” What stands out in my mind is to “support and defend the Constitution of the United States.” However, today I feel I have lost my own constitutional rights.

Today we are in a political battle of historic proportions, and it does not matter on which side of the political aisle you reside – our nation’s greatness reflects on your right to choose your next president. A few weeks ago, I placed the campaign signs for my choice for president on the corner of my property in Mont Vernon, and these signs were promptly removed.

Having no malice in my heart, I replaced the signs with two new presidential campaign signs, and within a few days they disappeared as well. I see campaign signs for people I don’t support all over my town, and those signs represent more than the candidates; those signs represent our constitutional right to choose. It seems I have neighbors who have decided that I no longer have constitutional rights, or perhaps they think that trespassing on my property is one of their constitutional rights. This blog is a reflection of all the things going on in America today: Wall Street and the economy, and the election for a new president. I would think people had better things to do with their spare time than removing candidate signs from my yard.

In honor and respect of those people with so much free time, my resolute and passion to protect constitutional rights inspired me to place an 8-foot-by-4-foot campaign sign attached to a 250-year-old rock maple tree. I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same “non sibi sed patriae!” – not self but country.

Published: Thursday, October 23, 2008


Business

Manufacturing Research Practitioner™ by Pietro

About Dr. Pietro Savo

Dr. Pietro (Pete) Savo is a Principal Consultant with over 28 years of diverse experience in Business Strategy Improvement (BSI), Leadership Development, Operations, Engineering, Manufacturing, Quality Systems, Material Management, Supply Chain, Union Shop and consulting environments. Pietro created the term Manufacturing Research Practitioner ™ as the foundation for his Doctoral thesis dedicated to improving the United States Manufacturing Industry.  Dr. Savo has lectured at, Boeing Aircraft, Lockheed Martin, Rolls Royce, Northup Grumman, Raytheon and United Technologies on various subjects such as Lean Thinking, Leadership, Team Building, Quality Systems ISO Registrar Selection and Root Cause Analysis. Taught Root Cause Analysis for American Society for Quality (ASQ). Customized Training Specialties Leadership & Culture & Conflict Resolution Made Simple Root Cause Analysis (RCA) Problem Solving & Mistake-Proof It! Lean Manufacturing & The 6S's: Workplace Organization Evolving Quality Systems ISO 9001:2000/AS 9100:2000 Industry Evolution Building Business with the United States Government and Prime Contractors New Project Bidding Team Improvement Training “Know Your Front End” Published: Root Cause Analysis System for Problem Solving and Problem Avoidance Published: PERFECTION - 10 Secrets to Successful Lean Manufacturing Implementation. United States Navy Veteran View all posts by Dr. Pietro Savo

Leave a Reply

