Captain Serge A. Yonov, Commanding Officer U.S.S. Connole February 1980 August 1982

I reported for duty on-board the U.S.S. Connole (FF-1056) around late January 1980. Captain Yonov assumed command February 1980 while docked in Catania, Sicily. The previous captain, kept to himself; he did not interact with the enlisted crew. This had been my first shipboard deployment, and I genuinely thought that was normal. Once Captain Yonov assumed command this all changed. True leadership creates positive change and a positive environment for change. Captain Yonov would speak with us not only about our duties on board the U.S.S. Connole, he would talk about family, hobbies, and things that were important to us. He understood the utmost importance of relationship and true team building. He understood that creating a closely bound community like the crew of a naval ship, depended on relationships forged in respect.Captain Serge A. Yonov

On a small frigate like the U.S.S. Connole you knew quickly who you liked or disliked, who you trusted, or distrusted. Captain Yonov encouraged trust built on relationships, from shipboard duties, to the ship’s softball team, and the daily news briefing we called Fish-Eye News. Fish-Eye News televised on the ship’s TV network; it was more crewmembers making fun of other crewmembers than real news. Sometimes very funny, sometimes not so funny. We worked hard and played hard and that was the Captain’s definition of ship’s crew. We spent a great deal of time at sea, and it seemed an equal amount of time on the beach in port somewhere. . . . When we ran into the Captain during liberty, he always did not want us to fuss over him. We would jump to attention or attempt to salute him, he would wave us off. One night on a liberty boat in Naples Italy, I had shore-patrol duty that night; we had a sailor stretch attempting to sleep across four seats. The captain came on board, when I attempted to clear a seat for the captain, he said do not bother, I can stand.

On U.S.S. Connole’s Bridge, you knew who was in charge; his leadership style was to encourage others to lead, from the officer of the deck to the enlisted crewmembers. During port entry and port exit, I was the Combat Information Center (CIC) Bridge Sound Phone Talker. My job was to take information from the radar operator in CIC and keep track of all surface ship contacts and yell out this information to the Bridge Duty officer and the Captain. Early in my career as a CIC Bridge Sound Phone Talker Captain Yonov told me it was not necessary to yell out all the surface contacts, he said, only tells us the surface contacts that posed a threat to our ship. The Captain’s request went against my training. What I did not realize until later, the Captain always encouraged his crew to think on their feet. He motivated us by trusting us. My memories of him asking me with his slight Russian accent, “What do you think Petty Officer Savo, should I worry about that contact?” One particular morning while transiting the Strait of Messina, I had just been relieved from the mid-watch, attempting to get some rest, and summoned to the Bridge once again. Captain Yonov apologized for waking me up; he said that not having me on the Bridge during the Strait of Messina transit made him uncomfortable. A good crew is a byproduct of mutual respect; our crew protected each other at sea, on shore and on the bridge of our ship.

Captain Yonov often discussed the importance of a sailor’s family and my family’s future in the United States Navy. He knew of my up and coming marriage, and my feelings towards the difficulties of Navy life on a marriage. My fiancée’s dad, a World War Two Veteran, Captain Yonov invited my future father-in-law to ride the U.S.S. Connole from Manhattan New York to Newport Rhode Island. Harold Gorman invited to the Bridge by the Captain, sat in the captain’s chair and Captain Yonov began explaining why it would be a fantastic career for Petty Officer Savo to stay in the Navy. A little background on Harold Gorman, he has never been shy or soft-spoken. Harold told the Captain that he was speaking to the wrong person. The person you need to have the Naval career discussion with is my daughter Patty. The Captain smiled, continued talking, and went on with his business of guiding his ship up the east river into Long Island sound and finally to Newport.

The last sea-story for this Blog, chasing a Foxtrot Russian submarine the ultimate sea going enemy, when this occurred I was on duty in CIC. I remember the Captain asking the CIC duty officer if he thought the Foxtrot we were tracking knew we were here. Absolutely said the duty officer. I agree, said the Captain. The Connole had an underwater telephone, and the captain went over to it and asked in Russian, that the Foxtrot surface and the sub did. That is where the famous U.S.S. Connole (FF-1056) shadows a “Foxtrot” class submarine photograph came from. Captain Yonov was not famous, and he was an extraordinary commanding officer, who leadership skill and honest belief in the power of his crew inspired us all, crewmembers and visitors equally!

U.S.S. Connole (FF-1056) shadows a “Foxtrot” class submarine, 1981.

Photo by: ET2 Bruce Chalk

Savo, P. (2009). Stories of Captain Serge A. Yonov. In W. Kaufman (Ed.), THE FABRIC STARTED HERE, Notes for the History Of The Last Senior Class of Sea Cliff School 1957 – 2009. Harrisburg, OR: Wallace Kaufman.


Business

About Dr. Pietro Savo

Dr. Pietro (Pete) Savo is a Principal Consultant with over 28 years of diverse experience in Business Strategy Improvement (BSI), Leadership Development, Operations, Engineering, Manufacturing, Quality Systems, Material Management, Supply Chain, Union Shop and consulting environments. Pietro created the term Manufacturing Research Practitioner ™ as the foundation for his Doctoral thesis dedicated to improving the United States Manufacturing Industry.  Dr. Savo has lectured at, Boeing Aircraft, Lockheed Martin, Rolls Royce, Northup Grumman, Raytheon and United Technologies on various subjects such as Lean Thinking, Leadership, Team Building, Quality Systems ISO Registrar Selection and Root Cause Analysis. Taught Root Cause Analysis for American Society for Quality (ASQ). Customized Training Specialties Leadership & Culture & Conflict Resolution Made Simple Root Cause Analysis (RCA) Problem Solving & Mistake-Proof It! Lean Manufacturing & The 6S's: Workplace Organization Evolving Quality Systems ISO 9001:2000/AS 9100:2000 Industry Evolution Building Business with the United States Government and Prime Contractors New Project Bidding Team Improvement Training “Know Your Front End” Published: Root Cause Analysis System for Problem Solving and Problem Avoidance Published: PERFECTION - 10 Secrets to Successful Lean Manufacturing Implementation. United States Navy Veteran View all posts by Dr. Pietro Savo

6 responses to “Captain Serge A. Yonov, Commanding Officer U.S.S. Connole February 1980 August 1982

  • Giulio

    One of the most engaging articles I have read. I loved hearing a story from my big brother that I have never heard before. A great way to remember your ex Commanding Officer. I am pretty sure, as a little boy, I met Captain Yonov when picking you up in RI.

    Great writing style and engaging story. Love it.

  • Mark

    Pete, great story. I too was greatly affected by the Skipper. One night had gotten off of watch and went up to my torpedo mag to polish some bright work for a zone inspection the next day. It must have been around 0200, and I had white lights on and music blaring. Capt. Yonov came to the torpedo mag door, smiled and said I was working awfully hard that late at night. I told him about the zone inspection the next day and he told me to carry on. As he was leaving he looked back over his shoulder and said that I should turn down the stereo, he could hear it down in the wardroom below!

  • Timmy A. Clark

    BEST CAPTAIN I EVER SERVED UNDER.
    BT’S TEND TO BE FORGOTTEN DOWN IN
    THE PIT. HE WOULD OFTEN STOP BY AND HAVE COFFEE AN SHOOT THE BULL WITH US IN THE WE HOURS OF THE NIGHT WHEN HE SHOULD BE IN HIS RACK.

    CAN’T SAY ENOUGH, WAS PROUD TO POPTO WHENEVER HE PASSED BY!!!

  • Michael Hirvela

    Prior to CDR Yonov’s turnover of command to CDR Nicholson, he re- and re- and re-wrote his remarks. I fnished them just before the ceremony, handing to him as he entered the hangar deck. I watched from the passageway, still in my dungarees. I recall is remarks that, “Never as a young boy in Riga, Latvia, did I ever think I would be Captain of a U.S. Navy ship and represent the U.S. in other countries. It has been my honor and privilege to have served with you all.” He was quite an officer. I am proud to have known him.

  • Alexis Yonov

    What a lovely article, Dr. Savo. I’ve read it a few times and it always makes me smile. And thank you for all your kind words about my Dad. He is missed and it is wonderful to know that you all appreciated him. Happy Veterans Day.

  • Dominick Tuzzo - Derby, CT

    Served 12 years in the Navy, USS Connole FF-1056 being my first ship and CDR Yonov my first Skipper. Talk about COMMAND PRESENCE. I remember during my first Med Cruise in 1981 watching CDR Yonov reading “Alexander the Great” on the starboard bridgewing. As Tim Clark (who posted above) will attest, not too many other sailors ventured down into our Fireroom, but whenever the Captain DID, we were always inspired by his leadership style, and the way he had of making us ‘feel’ appreciated.

Leave a Reply

